Mpumalanga means East or “the place where the sun rises” in several South African languages, including Xhosa, Swazi, Zulu and Ndebele.

One of the many waterfalls in the Mpumalanga Province of South Africa
Photo by Taryn Elliott:

You can find South Africa’s Mpumalanga Province on the eastern side of South Africa. It borders Eswatini and Mozambique on the right. On its north is the Limpopo Province, and on the west is the Gauteng Province of South Africa. To the south of the province, you can find the KwaZulu-Natal Province.

Map of Mpumalanga with Mbombela highlighted (2016)

You can read more about South Africa’s 9 provinces here.

The province is 6.5% of the land area of South Africa, making it the second-smallest province in South Africa.

South African languages spoken here include Zulu, Ndebele, Tsonga and siSwati.

The Towns and Cities of Mpumalanga

Hippo in Kruger National Park
Photo by Matthias Mullie on Unsplash

Nelspruit is the capital of Mpumalanga. The other main towns and cities in Mpumalanga are:

  • Badplaas
  • Barberton
  • Belfast
  • Chrissiesmeer
  • Dullstroom
  • Ermelo
  • Graskop
  • Groblersdal
  • Hazyview
  • Komatipoort
  • Lydenburg
  • Malelane
  • Marloth Park
  • Middelburg
  • Nelspruit
  • Ohrigstad
  • Piet Retief
  • Pilgrim’s Rest
  • Sabie
  • Standerton
  • Volksrust
  • Waterval Boven
  • White River

Posts About Mpumalanga