Limpopo Province

The Limpopo province is one of the nine provinces in South Africa. It is the northernmost province.

Read more about South Africa’s 9 provinces here.

Where Is the Limpopo Province of South Africa?

The Limpopo province of South Africa borders Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Botswana.

Some Facts About the Limpopo Province

They named the Limpopo province after the Limpopo River that runs through the province. Its capital city is Polokwane, the only South African town bordering the Kruger National Park.

The province covers 48,554 square miles or km and is South Africa’s fifth-largest province. The highest elevation in the province is 2,126 metres or 6,975 feet. 

Districts or Regions in The Limpopo Province

The province has five regions:

1. Capricorn

They named the Capricorn region after the Tropic of Capricorn. It is the region where the Bapedi people live. The region starts at the Ysterberg, along the Wolkberg and extends to the tropic of Capricorn in the north. This region is perfect for an overnight stop when travelling from Gauteng to other areas in the province. 

2. Maponi

It is primarily the Vatsonga people who live in the Maponi region. The region is also called the Valley of Elephants. The Maponi region includes the northern part of the Drakensberg

3. Sekhukhuni

The Sekhukhuni region’s name is from King Skhukhune, who was the king of the Bapedi people in the 18th century. This region has many farms producing grapes, maize, cotton and sweet potatoes. Currently, the Bapedi and Ndebele people live here.

4. Vhembe

The Vhavenda and Vatsonga people live in the Vhembe region. Visitors can see many baobab trees, abundant wildlife and bird life in this region. The Soutpansberg mountain is part of this region.

5. Waterberg

The Waterberg region is the largest region of the Limpopo province. It contains the Waterberg mountain range and has natural beauty and diverse landscapes. Most of the region forms part of conservation efforts, especially for white rhinos and elephants. The Batswana people live here.

Cities and Towns in The Limpopo Province

The main towns in the Limpopo Province include:

  • Haenertsburg
  • Bela-Bela
  • Hoedspruit
  • Lephalale
  • Louis Trichardt
  • Modimolle (previous name: Nylstroom)
  • Mokopane (previous name: Potgietersrus)
  • Mookgophong (previous name: Naboomspruit)
  • Musina
  • Phalaborwa
  • Thabazimbi
  • Thohoyandou
  • Tzaneen
  • Vaalwater

Limpopo-Related Posts

These are all the posts focusing on the Limpopo province of South Africa: